

Tuesday 8th June, 1.10pm

Colyer-Fergusson Hall

Summer Music Week: Music Scholars' Lunchtime Recital

Euan Bonnar (euphonium) Third-year reading Biosciences	<i>Romanza</i> from Euphonium Concerto	Karl Jenkins
Joanna Adaran (voice) Second-year reading Comparative Literature and Drama	At Last	Mack Gordon and Harry Warren
Weiqi Zhang (Arthur) (piano) Exchange student reading French	Piano Sonata No.1 in F# minor, Op.11, first movement Un poco adagio - Allegro vivace	Robert Schumann
Beth Chapman (flute) Second-year reading English Language and Linguistics and German	Concertino Op. 107	Cécile Chaminade
Kira Hilton (viola) First-year PhD student reading Chemistry Charlotte Cane (viola) Masters student reading Architecture	Concerto in G for two violas Lento Allegro Largo Vivace	Georg Philip Telemann

Daniel Harding accompanist

Today's recital presents a snapshot of some of this year's University Music Performance Scholars, all of whom participate in extra-curricular music at Kent alongside their course of studies. In this especially extraordinary year, it is a tribute to their commitment and organisation that they have been able still to carry on with their music lessons and attend those rehearsals that have been able to take place, whilst continuing with their studies – typical of the wider University community, embracing challenge and rising to meet it with considerable skill. The Music Department is hugely grateful to all the students, and to the Music Scholars in particular, for their dedication during this past year.



University of Kent Music

gratefully acknowledges the support of

Major Donors

Sir James Colyer-Fergusson Colyer-Fergusson Charitable Trust David Humphreys The Bequest of Carol Mary Vinson

University Music Fund Patron: Dame Anne Evans The University is very grateful to the following for their support of the Music Scholarship Scheme and extra-curricular music activities

Dr Jean N Baker Professor John Baldock Matthew Bamford Miles Banbery Dorothy Bevan in memory of John Bevan Dr James & Jenny Bird Sonia Copland Bloom Sarah Buttler The Canterbury Festival Samantha Case Sir Geoffrey & Lady Chipperfield Margaret Coutts & Colin McLaren Professor John Craven Pamela Cross David & Maureen de Saxe Professor Paddy Farrell Former Staff Association Alan & Diana Forrest Robert & Lida de Fougerolles Alistair Gray **Robin Hawkins** Jill Henton Martin Hill, in memory of John Hill Angela Hirst Sir Charles Jessel Charitable Trust

Professor Lyn Innes & Martin Scofield June Jolly Professor Dick Jones Sigrid Martin-Wünscher Robert Miller Professor David Ormrod Professor Jan Pahl Jo Pearsall In memory of Alexander Perry Angela M Richardson-Bunbury Professor Richard Scase Fund Professor Colin Sevmour-Ure Professor Charlotte L Sleigh Susannah Thackray Professor Clare Ungerson Paula & Colin Vickers Professor Maurice Vile & Nancy Gaffield Susan Wanless Professor Sir Robert & Lady Worcester

and other anonymous donations

The Colyer-Fergusson Building The University is very grateful to the following individuals and organisations whose generoussupport enabled the Colyer-Fergusson Building to be built

Colyer-Fergusson Charitable Trust Sir James Colyer-Fergusson Higher Education Funding Council for England Dr Jean N Baker Miles Banbery Dr James & Jenny Bird Dr Orlando Bloom Sonia Copeland Bloom & Samantha Bloom

Pamela Cross David & Maureen de Saxe Former Staff Association Alan & Diana Forrest Dame Julia & Professor Peter Goodfellow **Jill Henton** Sue Hopkinson Christopher A Keljik Professor Keith & Janet Mander **Dr Valerie Marshall** Kathryn Marten Dixon Matthew Hodder Charitable Trust Professor Sir David Melville Dr Joanna Motion Sally Muggeridge Dr Louise Naylor Sir Graeme & Lady Odgers Ian & Juliet Odgers **Richard & Amicia Oldfield** The Roger De Haan **Charitable Trust Professor Richard Scase** Sir Charles Jessel Charitable Trust Professor Clare Ungerson HH Judge Nigel & Loba Van der Bijl Professor Sir Robert & Lady Worcester David E Allett Professor Graham & Margaret Anderson Margaret Anwell N Araki Jervis **Professor Stephen Bann Diana M Barnes** Adam Beaman Alexandra Bennell Humphrey Berney Jill & Jeremy Bland Marieke Bloemink Monica Bolley



Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz Cathy Boyes & Brían Taylor Dr Stella Bradbury Lvn Brown Michael & Jennie Bukht Professor Alan & Dr Jenny Bull Marie-Louise Burgess in memory of Hilda Rook Gillian Burton John & Gillian Butler Sarah Buttler Elizabeth A Cable Siân E Calnan Jane G Canning Naomi Capell Sally F Carr Sarah Carter Faith Chantler Hazel E Chinnery Sir Geoffrey & Lady Chipperfield Jon & Beryl Chipperton Professor Roy & Monty Chisholm Alison J Coles Professor Alan K Common Fraser Cooper Antony Copley Claire Cowie Peter Cox Michael Coxall Revd Derek & Christiane Crabtree Cecile Critchell Carrie Cushing Caroline Dacey Lorna Davey Florian D Delessert Dr Mark Deller Dr Keith & Judith Dimond Dame Anne Evans Professor Paddy Farrell Ian S Ferguson Dr David Flood Friends of St Vincent's Church Dr Sarah Fulford **Furley Page Solicitors** Steven Gant

John & Marina Garner Alistair Grav Stephanie Green Joanna Griffiths in memory of Roland Hurst Professor A John R Groom Bethany Halliday Simon Harris Heather Harrow Dr Judith A Hattaway Cynthia Hawes Angela Hirst Dr Michael Hughes Diane & Alastair Hume David Humphreys Jane & Mubariz Hussain Dorothy Hutchinson Stuart Hutchinson Geraldine Ingram Professor Lyn Innes ISG Professor Dick Jones Annie Judge Charlotte Kelly Dr Emma Kemp Sue Kerr The Lord & Lady Kingsdown James Kirkham Dr Keith Lampard Helly Langley Katharine Lewis Ginny Lingwood Dr Dan Lloyd Dr Andrew Macnair Dr Duncan & Margaret Macnair Professor Molly M Mahood Patricia Marsh-Stefanovska John Martin & Sigrid Martin-Wünscher Donations in memory of John Martin Seb & Liz Maynard Dr Timothy Mead Sophie Meikle Rosemary Miller Jane & David Millyard James Mitchard Dominic & Sylvia del Nevo Tim Offord

Professor David Ormrod Dr Jeremy Ovenden Professor Jan Pahl Alan Payne Lucy Payne Jo Pearsall David & Alicia Pentin Helen Perkins Charmaine E Perrin Hannah C Perrin Floriane Peycelon **Tony Quigley Rosemary Rathbone** Matthew & Catherine Robbins Sarah Roberts Dr Doreen M Rosman Adam G Samways The Sarah D'Avigdor-Goldsmid Charitable Trust Martin P Scofield David M Scott Professor Colin & Judy Seymour-Ure Shepherd Neame Ltd Professor Charlotte L Sleigh Malcolm Stokes Professor John & Annette Strange Ian & Alison Swatman Susannah Thackray Professor Glyn M Tonge Edwina H Tyler Jenny Ualow Professor Roger & Christine Vickerman Paula Vickers Professor Maurice Vile & Nancy Gaffield Rachel Waltham **Professor Sarah Wanless** Dr Virginia Webb & Family Fred Whitemore Clare Winstanley Barry F Wright **Bethany Young**

and other anonymous donations