## UNIVERSITY OF KENT

## **Ethics Committee**

Membership

Chair: Gabriel MacGregor, lay member of Council (to 31.7.2024).

Members:

Lay members of the Council: Michael Crick (to 31.7.2024).

Chairs of the major committees with responsibility for ethics:

Research Ethics and Governance Committee;

Director of Development;

Anti-Bribery and Corruption Review Group:

International Partnerships Advisory Panel.

Undergraduate representative appointed by the Students' Union: Postgraduate representative appointed by the Students' Union:

**Secretary**: Dr Sinead Critchley, Director of Governance and Assurance (Secretary to Council)

,

## Terms of Reference:

- 1. to oversee the University's policies on ethics;
- 2. to consider and advise on ethical issues referred by the following: Council; any committee of Council; the Senate; any committee of Senate; the Vice-Chancellor and President. Ethical concerns raising significant reputational or financial risk should normally be referred to the Committee;
- 3. to report to Council its findings in respect of 2 above;
- 4. on behalf of Council, to consider and, if appropriate, approve work which requires the approval of a University ethics committee before it can receive external authorisation to proceed;
- 5. to consider annual reports from: Research Ethics and Governance Committee; the Development Office regarding Fundraising; Anti-Bribery and Corruption Review Group and International Partnerships Approval Panel;
- 6. to review, on request of Council and in the context of contemporary best practice, the mechanisms and procedures for identifying and considering ethical issues arising from teaching, research, fundraising and other aspects of the activities of the University.

**Quorum**: One third of the membership to include at least 1 lay member.

**Frequency of meetings:** At least twice a year in Autumn and Summer Terms with additional meetings if required.