# Senate Membership, 2022-23

## 1. The Vice-Chancellor and President: Professor Karen Cox

## 2. The Deputy Vice-Chancellors (3)

Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic Strategy, Planning and Performance	Professor Georgina Randsley de Moura
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Education and Student Experience	Professor Richard Reece
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation	Professor Shane Weller

## 3. The Directors of Division (6)

Director of Division of Arts and Humanities	Professor Juliette Pattinson
Director of Division of Natural Sciences	Professor Claire Peppiatt-Wildman
Director of Division of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences	Professor Ben Cosh
Director of Division of Kent Business School	Professor Marian Garcia
Director of Division of Human and Social Sciences	Professor David Wilkinson
Director of Division for the Study of Law, Society and Social Justice	Professor lain Wilkinson

## 4. Portfolio Directors (6) on a rotating two-year term of office

Director of Education and UG Student Experience x 2	Professor John Batchelor – Division of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences (to 31.07.24) Dr Eddy Hogg – Division for the Study of Law, Society & Social Justice (to 31.07.24)
Director of Research & Innovation x 2	Dr Helen Brooks – Division of Arts & Humanities (to 31.07.24) Vacancy – KBS (TBD)
Director of Graduate Studies and PG Student Experience x 2	Professor Gurprit Lall – Division of Natural Sciences (to 31.07.24) Dr Edward Morgan-Jones – Division of Human and Social Sciences (to 31.07.24)

## 5. Representatives of academic staff (30):

## 5.1 Elected Heads of School/Subject (6)

Head of School/Subject from Division of Arts and Humanities	Dr Bashir Abu-Manneh (to 31.07.23)
Head of School/Subject from Division of Natural Sciences	Professor Mark Wass (to 31.07.23)
Head of School/Subject from Division of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences	Vacancy
Head of School/Subject from Division of Kent Business School	Vacancy
Head of School/Subject from Division of Human and Social Sciences	Dr Nadine Ansorg (to 31.07.24)
Head of School/Subject from Division for the Study of Law, Society and Social Justice	Vacancy

#### 5.2 Elected Academic Divisional Representatives (24):

Division of Arts and Humanities x 4	Professor Jennie Batchelor (to 31.07.24)
	Dr David Hornsby (to 31.07.24)
	Dr Erik Mathisen (to 31.07.24)
	Professor Murray Smith (to 31.07.24)

Division of Natural Sciences x 4	Dr Campbell Gourlay (to 31.07.23) Professor Nigel Mason (to 31.07.24) Dr Anna Romito (to 31.07.23) Dr Jill Shepherd (to 31.07.24)
Division of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences x 4	Dr Jim Ang (to 31.07.24) Dr Daniel Bearup (to 31.07.24) Dr Dominique Chu (to 31.07.24) Vacancy x1
Division of Kent Business School x 4	Dr Mohammed Hasan (to 31.07.24) Dr Pushyarag Puthusserry (to 31.07.24) Vacancy x2
Division of Human and Social Sciences x 4	Professor Roger Giner-Sorolla (to 31.07.24) Dr Nicholas E. Newton-Fisher (to 31.07.24) Dr Rajindra Puri (to 31.07.24) Dr Ben Turner (to 31.07.24)
Division for the Study of Law, Society and Social Justice x 4	Dr Vanessa Abrahamson (to 31.07.23) Dr Jill Bradshaw (to 31.07.24) Dr Iain Frame (to 31.07.24) Dr Sophie Vigneron (to 31.07.24)

6. Chair of Research Ethics and Governance Committee: Dr Anna Brown

7. Director of Graduate and Researcher College: Professor Gordon Lynch

- 8. Dean for Internationalisation: Dr Anthony Manning
- 9. Dean for Europe: Professor Jeremy Carrette

#### 10. Professional Services Directors (4)

Director of Education	Dr Louise Naylor
Director of Research & Innovation Services	Kerry Barber
Director of Student Services	Dr Lucy Foley
Director of Information Services	Trevor Pereira (Interim)

#### 11. Student representatives (5):

The President of the Students' Union: Zaid Mahmood

Two sabbatical officers of the Students' Union: Vice President (Academic Experience): Lupe Sellei Vice President (Postgraduate Experience): Ben Bradley

Two elected student representatives: Luis Howell (UG elected student rep), Maureen Bungei (PG elected student rep).

#### **Total 59 Members**

#### In Attendance:

Director of Governance & Assurance (Secretary to Council) and Head of Secretariat (Secretary to Senate).

Senate will have the authority to target attendance for certain items of business as the agenda dictates.