UNIVERSITY OF KENT

LAY NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

TERMS OF REFERENCE AND MEMBERSHIP

Terms of Reference:

- 1. to seek nominations for lay membership of Council, under Paragraph 8(a) of the Charter, and its sub-committees, seeking suggestions for names from members of the Council, staff and students of the University and, where appropriate via advertising of vacancies and the use of recruitment consultants:
- 2. to appoint a panel of Lay members of the Lay Nominations Committee to sift and interview candidates and make recommendations for the Committee to consider and to make recommendations to the Council:
- 3. to advise Council on the balance of membership, period of tenure, the perceived balance of skills and experience, succession planning and skills refreshment of Lay members, in accordance with the needs of the University and to take into account the following, from the Higher Education Code of Governance September 2020, "4.4 The governing body must routinely reflect on its own composition and consider ways it can encourage diversity in all forms, thus leading by example. This includes consideration of the impact of decisions on equality, diversity and inclusion."
- 4. to make recommendations in relation to lay appointments in accordance with Paragraphs 10, 11 and of the Charter (concerning limitations on the periods of appointment of lay officers and members of the Council).

Quorum: 4 (to include at least two lay members of Council).

Membership

Chair:

The Chair of the Council: Dame Ursula Brennan (to 31.7.2023)

Members:

Deputy Chair of the Council/Chair of Finance & Resources Committee:

Andrew Newell (to 31.7.2024)

Two lay members of the Council: Colin Carmichael (to 31.7.2023) Kim Lowe (to 31.7.2024)

Vice-Chancellor and President: Professor Karen Cox Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Professor Richard Reece

One other member of academic staff appointed by the Senate: Professor Shane Weller

Secretary: Dr Sinead Critchley, Director of Governance and Assurance (Secretary to Council)