Prevent Steering Group

Terms of Reference and Membership 2023/24

(Updated June 2024)

The University of Kent's Prevent Steering Group is responsible for overseeing the University's response to its obligations under the 2015 Counter Terrorism and Security Act. It will exchange information and meet as necessary. There will be oral reports from the PSG to the Health Safety and Security Committee as necessary.

Its specific responsibilities include:

- Reviewing the annual report to Council, including local threat levels, the University risk
- assessment and Action Plan
- Reviewing and Monitoring University Prevent Training
- Reviewing Compliance with the University's statutory and regulatory obligations

Membership

The Prevent Steering Group full membership is as follows. In general, however, attendance at meetings will be required only from those members most concerned with the issues under discussion. Members can also send deputies if they are unable to attend. The Prevent Steering Group will meet two-three times during an Academic year, with an option to meet or discuss via email correspondence on an ad-hoc basis as and when needed.

MEMBERSHIP	
Richard Reece (Chair)	Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Education and Student Experience
David Powell	Policy Adviser to the Vice Chancellor. Prevent Lead
Sue Welford	Student Services. Prevent Officer
Alison Mansell	Head of Student Conduct and Complaints
Sinead Critchley	Director of Governance and Assurance
Tim Davies	Head of Communications
Lucy Foley	Director of Student Support and Well-being
Mark Arnold	Head of Security
Sian Lewis-Anthony	Senior Lecturer in Law
Thomas Freeston	VP Welfare and Community, Kent Union (AY 23/24)
Olivia Adekunle	Director of Advocacy, Kent Union
Stephen Laird	University Chaplain and Honorary Lecturer
Sarah Flannery	DaLL (for HDAs)
Caroline Gilley	DaLL (for HDAs)
Mark Ellis	Director of University Operations
Emma Soutar	Centre for Child Protection
Teslimah Bello	VP Welfare and Community, Kent Union (from AY 24/25)

June 2024