

SENATE/ MEMBERSHIP

Membership of Senate - 2024/2025

1. The Vice-Chancellor and President: Professor Georgina Randsley de Moura

2. The Deputy Vice-Chancellors (3)

Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic Strategy, Planning and Performance	Professor Claire Peppiatt-Wildman
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Education and Student Experience	Professor Richard Reece
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation	Professor Shane Weller

3. The Directors of Division (6)

Director of Division of Arts and Humanities	Dr Antonio Lazaro-Reboll
Director of Division of Natural Sciences	Professor James Hopker
Director of Division of Computing, Engineering and Mathematic Sciences	Professor Ben Cosh
Director of Division of Kent Business School	John Board (interim)
Director of Division of Human and Social Sciences	Professor David Wilkinson
Director of Division for the Study of Law, Society and Social Justice	Professor lain Wilkinson

4. Portfolio Directors (6) on a rotating two-year term of office

Director of Education and UG Student Experience x 2	Dan Llyod – Division of Natural Sciences (to 31.07.26) Jane O'Mahony – Division of Human & Social Sciences (to 31.07.26)
Director of Research & Innovation x 2	Mark Batty - Division of Computing, Engineering & Mathematical Sciences (to 31.07.26) Dawn Lyon - Division for Study of Law, Society & Social Justice (to 31.07.26)
Director of Graduate Studies and PG Student Experience x 2	Ben Hutchinson- Division of Arts & Humanities (to 31.07.26) Zita Stone - Kent Business School (to 31.07.26)

5. Representatives of academic staff (30):

5.1 Elected Heads of School/Subject (6)

Head of School/Subject from Division of Arts and Humanities	Dr Alvise Sforza Tarabochia (to 31.07.25)
Head of School/Subject from Division of Natural Sciences	Professor Mark Wass (to 31.07.26)
Head of School/Subject from Division of Computing, Engineeri and Mathematical Sciences	Janet Carter (to 31.07.25)
Head of School/Subject from Division of Kent Business School	Vacancy
Head of School/Subject from Division of Human and Social Sciences	Vacancy
Head of School/Subject from Division for the Study of Law, Society and Social Justice	Vacancy

5.2 Elected Academic Divisional Representatives (24):

	1
Division of Arts and Humanities x 4	Dr Claire L Jones (to 31.07.26) Dr Erik Mathisen (to 31.07.26)
	Vacancy Vacancy
Division of Natural Sciences x 4	Dr Lex Mauger (to 31.07.25) Dr Jose Ortega Roldan (to 31.07.25) Professor Nigel Mason (to 31.07.26) Vacancy
Division of Computing, Engineering and Mathematical Sciences	Vacancy
Division of Kent Business School x 4	Vacancy Vacancy Vacancy Vacancy
Division of Human and Social Sciences x 4	Dr Nadine Ansorg (to 31.07.26) Vacancy Vacancy Vacancy
Division for the Study of Law, Society and Social Justice x 4	Vacancy Vacancy Vacancy Vacancy

- 6. Chair of Research Ethics and Governance Committee: Professor Martin Michaelis
- 7. Director of Graduate and Researcher College: Professor Ben Hutchinson
- 8. Dean for Internationalisation: Dr Anthony Manning

9. Professional Services Directors (4)

Director of Education	Dr Bill Collier
Director of Research & Innovation Services	Kerry Barber
Director of Student Services	Dr Lucy Foley
Director of Information Services	Trevor Pereira

10. Student representatives (5):

The President of the Students' Union: Lulu Collins

Two sabbatical officers of the Students' Union:

Vice President (Academic Experience): Ayodele Okwusogu Vice President (Postgraduate Experience): Claudia Moreira

Two elected student representatives: Cassie Metcalf (UG)

TBC (PG)

Total Members: 31 (excluding vacancies and student representatives)

In Attendance:

Director of Governance & Assurance (Secretary to Council). Head of Secretariat (Secretary to Senate).

Senate will have the authority to target attendance for certain items of business as the agenda dictates.

6 November 2024