

SCAFFE

MEMBERSHIP 2024/2025

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC FREEDOM AND FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION (SCAFFE)

Membership

Chair:

Co-Chairs – one Lay member of Council and one member of Senate.

Members:

- 3 x Members of Council, appointed by the Lay Nominations Committee one to be co-Chair
- 3 x Members of Senate, elected one to be co-Chair
- 1 x Kent Union President OR Vice President Postgraduate Experience, Kent Union
- 1 x PGR Student

Academic and Professional Services representation:

- 6 x Divisional academic representatives, 1 per Division, elected (the categories of staff from across these representatives will fall where they may).
- 1 x Professional Services representative, from any of the Divisions, elected.

Tenure:

Members will serve a three-year term of office with the option to extend for a further three-year term.

In attendance:

Human Resources representative, Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, Head of Stakeholder Communications

Secretary:

Governance Secretariat

Current Membership

Paul Pugh	Council representative
Julie Kelly	Council representative
Vacancy	Council representative
Dr Erik Mathisen	Senate representative
Dr Trevor Gerhardt	Senate representative
Professor Murray Smith	Senate representative
Cláudia Moreira	VP Postgraduate Experience, Kent Union
TBC	PGR Student
Dr Ambrose Gillick	Divisional academic representative - Arts & Hum

Vacancy	Divisional academic representative – KBS
Vacancy	Divisional academic representative – NatSci
Dr Owen Lyne	Divisional academic representative – CEMS
Professor Ellie Lee	Divisional academic representative – LSSJ
Professor Roger Giner-Sorolla	Divisional academic representative – HSS
John Allen	Professional services representative

In attendance

Colin Smith	HR representative
Becky Lamyman	EDI representative
Tim Davies	Head of Communications
David Emanuel	Heads of Legal Services

11.12.2024